DOWNLOAD APP: Download JUBAECHO mobile app now available on play store & coming soon to app store.

SPLM-IG takes five seats in regional parliament

A lawmaker is seen casting his vote for the EALA representatives.

The Sudan People’s Liberation Movement-In Government (SPLM-IG) under President Salva Kiir won five seats in the just concluded election of law makers to the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA).

In the elections held Friday, the SPLM-in Opposition led by First Vice President Riek Machar garnered two representatives while the independent candidates were also two.

 Jemma  Nunu  Kumba, Speaker of the Transitional National Legislative Assembly congratulated the  winning candidates.

“May I also take this opportunity to congratulate the nine successful candidates who have won the trust and confidence of the members of this house to be elected to EALA,” Kumba said during the late Friday announcement of the final results.

The SPLM-IG candidates include, Gai Deng Nhial (333 votes), Dr. Anne Itto Leonardo (332), Dr. Woda Jeremiah Odok (326), Kim Gai Rut (296) and Dr.  Gabriel Garang  Aher (294).

There were 25 candidates that participated in the elections after campaigns.

SPLM-IO winners included Luke Thomson Thoan Teny (296) and Sadia James Sebit (300) and Makulia Kennedy (247) and Gideon Gatan Thoar (209) are the two independent lawmakers to the EALA.

Candidates belonging to Other Political Parties and South Sudan Opposition Alliance (SSOA) lost seats to independent candidates.

Other candidates in the race who ended up as losers include;  Dharuai Mabor  Teny, Manuel Makum  Matuop, Nyakuma Peter  Gatkuoth, Josephine  Daniel  Ugwok,  Gabriel  Alaak Garang, Tet Chan  Nhial, Wani Steven Mark, Bruthrus Ayul  Abowl ,  Akuoch  Ajang  Nyanhom, Deng Alier, Kot Martin Mirich, Dr. Aleu Garang Aleu and Ajak Mayol Bior.

A total of 444 lawmakers voted for EALA representatives while 157 did not vote.

Facebook Comments Box