DOWNLOAD APP: Download JUBAECHO mobile app now available on play store & coming soon to app store.

South Sudan’s President Fires 35 MPs Before Taking Oath

Kiir to form committee to probe Mugali fighting
President Salva Kiir. Photo by Presidency Press unit

By Awan Achiek

South Sudan’s President Salva Kiir Mayardit has dismissed 35 Members of Parliament replacing them with new ones before swearing in slated for later this week.

The affected lawmakers were appointed in May when Kiir reconstituted the Transitional National Legislative Assembly.

Lam Both, spokesperson for the Sudan People’s Liberation Movement (SPLM) revealed that the newly appointed lawmakers had missed out on the initial list of appointments but after the party had listened to their complaints they were reconsidered for appointment.

Disagreements emerged within the ruling SPLM party in the aftermath of the TNLA being reconstituted as more than 30 elected MPs were left out of the national parliament.

 “First of all the number that was left out in the first decree were not 35, they were more than 35 these people had complained that they want to come back to the assembly because they were elected in 2010,” Both told The Juba Echo in Juba on Sunday.

He revealed that those who have been relieved had taken up positions of those who were left out in May.

Both disclosed that the committee of Interim Transitional Government of National Unity (ITGONU) sat down and decided to enlist the MPs who had been left out for appointment.

Below is the List of MPs whose appointments were revoked

  1. Jennifer Yabu Lasuba – CE SPLM
  2. Huda Michael Laila Daudi – CE SPLM
  3. Gowan John Elias – CE SPLM
  4. Suzy Anthony Juma – CE SPLM
  5. Emmanuel Taban Martin – CE SPLM
  6. Diana Richard Wani – CE SPLM
  7. Eunice Nakor Paul – EE SPLM
  8. Hellen Orasio – EE SPLM
  9. Daniel Naroi Lochek – EE SPLM
  10. Pasca Ohisa Oduho – EE SPLM
  11. Chol Paul Pawel – Jonglei SPLM
  12. Nyang Chol Duor – Jonglei SPLM
  13. James Guot Pur – Jonglei SPLM
  14. Nyawaragak Martin Nyang – Jonglei SPLM
  15. Elisabeth Akuol Chuang – Jonglei SPLM
  16. Mary Akech Bior – Jonglei SPLM
  17. Tabitha Nyanchin Kuojo – Jonglei SPLM
  18. Suzana Peter Machar – Lakes SPLM
  19. Peter Lual Lual – Northern Bahr el Ghazal SPLM
  20. Mary Nyanut Ring Machar – Warrap SPLM
  21. Joseph Garang Maluil – Warrap SPLM
  22. Neima Abbas Eldo – Western Bahr el Ghazal SPLM
  23. Mary Paul Ngundeng – Unity SPLM
  24. Innocent Lazarus Latjor – Unity SPLM
  25. Simon Gatluak Pech Dak – Unity SPLM
  26. Anita David Gamu – WE SPLM
  27. Roselyn Samuel Abujohn – WE SPLM
  28. Sepura Siapai Richard – WE SPLM
  29. Loto Alibiapai – WE SPLM
  30. Lawrence Ibon – PAA SPLM
  31. Ongeso Cham Ader – PAA SPLM
  32. Kengen Jakor Bejo – PAA SPLM
  33. Deng Arop Kuol – AAA SPLM
  34. Peter Gatkuoth Thot Pakam – Unity SSOA
  35. Maria Nyahok William – UN SSOA

 List of the reinstated MPs

  1. Bilal Moses Onesmus – CE SPLM
  2. Henry Stephen Tanga – CE SPLM
  3. Thomas Wani Kundu – CE SPLM
  4. Peter Samuel Moga – CE SPLM
  5. Sobur John Mansuk – CE SPLM
  6. Joseph Dilly Lokura – CE SPLM
  7. Lazarus Parmela Farajallah – CE SPLM
  8. Natire Anne Grace – EE SPLM
  9. Louis Willy Ationg – EE SPLM
  10. Grace Abalang Adiho – EE SPLM
  11. Elisabeth Nyaruach Tap – Jonglei SPLM
  12. Kutin Bayek Din – Jonglei – SPLM
  13. David Yien Bilieth – Jonglei SPLM
  14. Mary Nyarieka Lorjok – Jonglei SPLM
  15. Esbola Majok Bangot – Jonglei SPLM
  16. Nyitur Daniel Dhieu – Lakes SPLM
  17. Adhieu Thiet – Northern Bahr el Ghazal SPLM
  18. Victoria Adhar Arop – Warrap SPLM
  19. Samuel Duwar Deng – Warrap SPLM
  20. Nadia Mahajub Babiker – Western Bahr el Ghazal SPLM
  21. Mary Yol Badeng – Unity SPLM
  22. Nyalok James Thiong – Unity SPLM
  23. Robert Ruai Kuol – Unity SPLM
  24. Nyuon Janguan Loi – Unity SPLM
  25. Saleh Saaid Ukuh – WE SPLM
  26. Vosca Martin Enocka – WE SPLM
  27. Ketura Yola Ambara – WE SPLM
  28. Elnama Daniel Joseph – WE SPLM
  29. Lorian Ibon – PAA SPLM
  30. Charles Welo – PAA SPLM
  31. Francis Lokurnyang – PAA SPLM
  32. Ayen Luka Ngor – Warrap National Agenda
  33. Anthony Jervase Yak – Western Bahr el Ghazal National Agenda
  34. Martin Magok Kawai – Unity SSOA
  35. Chuong Wan Rieth Kuol – Jonglei SSOA
Facebook Comments Box