DOWNLOAD APP: Download JUBAECHO mobile app now available on play store & coming soon to app store.

President Kiir dissolves parliament

President Salva Kiir dissolved the Transitional National Legislative Assembly and the Council of States, paving way for the reconstitution of a new parliament.

The dissolution was announced in a presidential decree broadcast on state owned South Sudan Broadcasting Corporation (SSBC) on Saturday.
The South Sudan’s 2018 peace deal sets out how a new parliament should be composed.
The peace deal expands the parliament from 400 to 550 members comprising representatives from the five parties to the peace deal.
President Salva Kiir’s group takes 332 members, a faction led by opposition leader, turned vice president Riek Machar known as SPLM-IO nominates 128 members, South Sudan’s Opposition Alliance, or SSOA gets 50 members, Other Political Parties or OPP shall have 30 representatives and a group known as Former Detainees takes up 10 positions in parliament.
The Council of States, on the other hand, shall be expanded from having 50 members to 100 members

Facebook Comments Box